Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Useful Links

Diabetes NSW & ACT– www.diabetesnsw.com.au

Diabetes NSW & ACT works proactively to improve the day-to-day lives of people living with diabetes. We aim to make things easier by educating carers, employers and the general public. Our mission is a life without the complication(s) of diabetes.

The University of Sydney – www.sydney.edu.au

The Charles Perkins Centre at the University of Sydney aims to ease the burden of diabetes, obesity and cardiovascular disease, and their related conditions, through innovative research collaborations, research partnerships and teaching.

The University of Sydney Testing Laboratories (SUGiRS) – www.glycemicindex.com- One of the leading centres for glycemic index research and home to Sydney University GI Research Service (SUGiRS) that provides a reliable commercial GI testing laboratory for the local and international food industry. There is also a searchable database of over 2000 foods that have been tested by SUGiRS.

CSIRO Total Wellbeing Diet Online – www.totalwellbeingdiet.com – The CSIRO Total Wellbeing Diet provides a comprehensive online health and wellbeing program that will show how simple changes to your diet can make significant changes to your health. A higher protein, Low GI diet plan that is designed to satisfy.

International Carbohydrate Quality Consortium (ICQC) – carbquality.org – The ICQC is a non-profit, worldwide organization whose mission is to support, summarize and disseminating the science around dietary carbohydrate and health with a focus on quality and to harmonize the work of scientists from academia, industry and government. Our activities focus primarily on carbohydrate nutrition and health promotion.

Western Sydney Diabetes Alliance – westernsydneydiabetes.com.au – The Western Sydney Diabetes (WSD) initiative has been established in response to the growing threat diabetes poses to the community’s health and wellbeing.

FIAL – fial.com.au – FIAL is an industry-led, not-for-profit organisation focused on growing the share of Australian food in the global marketplace.

AB Food & Beverages T/A Twinings & Co – www.twiningsandco.com.au 

Benedict’s Imports – www.blu.net.au

George Weston Foods – www.gwf.com.au

Golden North Ice Cream – www.goldennorth.com.au

Goodman Fielder – www.goodmanfielder.com.au

Mission Foods – www.missionmenus.com/au 

Mondelez International (Australia) – au.mondelezinternational.com

Moulamein Foods www.moulamein.com

Naturade – www.naturade.com  – United States

Nestle Oceania – www.nestle.com.au and www.nestle.co.nz

One Food Honey – www.onefood.com.au

Parmalat Australiawww.parmalat.com.au

Peninsula Foods – Moolgiri Rice (India), Golden Health Rice (Singapore)

Sanitarium – www.sanitarium.com.au 

Sugar Australia – www.sugaraustralia.com.au

SunRice – www.sunrice.com.au 

Usana – www.usana.com


Diabetes Australia – www.diabetesaustralia.com.au

Diabetes NSW & ACT – www.diabetesnsw.com.au

Australian Diabetes Educators Association – www.adea.com.au

Diabetes in Pregnancy Society – www.adips.org 

JDRF – www.jdrf.org.au


CSIRO – www.csiro.au

Dairy Australia – www.dairyaustralia.com.au

Dietitians Association of Australia – www.daa.asn.au

Dietitian New Zealand – www.dietitians.org.nz

Grains & Legumes Nutrition Council – www.glnc.org.au

Healthy Kids – Eat well, get active – www.healthykids.nsw.gov.au

Horticulture Innovation Australia – horticulture.com.au

MLA: Meat & Livestock Australia – www.mla.com.au or www.themainmeal.com.au

National Heart Foundation – www.heartfoundation.org.au

Nuts for Life – www.nutsforlife.com.au

Oldways – oldwayspt.org

Healthdirect – www.healthdirect.gov.au – Healthdirect is a gateway to quality health information for all Australians. It provides links to over 17,000 resources on the websites of over 80 of Australia’s trusted information organisations. It aims to improve the health of Australians by providing easy access to reliable health information

Pregnancy Birth & Baby – www.pregnancybirthbaby.org.au – Pregnancy, Birth and Baby: information, advice and counselling about pregnancy, childbirth and baby’s first year online, over the phone (1800 882 436) and by video call. Funded by the Australian Federal Government

Healthshare – www.healthshare.com.au  – Community Partner in Healthshare Australia’s leading digital health website. Healthshare empowers consumers to make better health choices by connecting Australians with local, credible and relevant health practitioners, products and health information. 

Raising Children Network– raisingchildren.net.au – The complete Australian resource for parenting newborns to teens with comprehensive information on Carbohydrates and GI

Northside Nutrition & Dietetics – www.nnd.com.au – A group of dietitians specialising in diabetes management, weight management and positive pregnancy outcomes.

Dr Joanna –  www.drjoanna.com.au – Get Lean: The lifestyle change program that helps you get and stay lean for life.

Australian Government ‘Eat for Health’ campaign www.eatforhealth.gov.au

Food Standards Australia New Zealand – www.foodstandards.gov.au

Western Sydney Diabetes Alliance – westernsydneydiabetes.com.au

The Glycemic Index Foundation recommends the following laboratories that test to the International Standard (ISO 26642:2010):



The University of Sydney’s Glycemic Index Research Service (SUGIRS) – Australia

Glycaemic Index Otago The University of Otago in New Zealand


Temasek Polytechnic

Clinical Nutrition Research Centre



Glycemic Index Laboratories, Inc



Oxford Brookes University



Please contact the laboratories directly for costs, requirements and testing timelines as they operate independently of the Foundation.